Kueh Tart (Pineapple Tarts)


Kueh Tart for baking“Selamat Aidilfitri pada saudara serta saudari, setahun hanya sekali merayakan hari yang mulia ini…”  As I listened to this song by Saloma it lifted my spirits and I seem to enjoy more in whatever I am doing and I just can’t help myself but hum along with it. We are just two days shy of the celebrated Hari Raya and I can’t wait for the big day to come. I hope my Muslim readers look forward to it too.

Honestly, I have a backlog of recipes I want to share with you but just couldn’t find the time to type and post recently. But now that I have completed all my baking, I have spare time to blog.

The recipe today as my title suggests is Kueh Tart or Pineapple Tart. It’s a popular cookie found in most Malay Muslim household during the Hari Raya celebration and also during Chinese New Year celebrated by the Chinese in Singapore.

I developed a new found respect for those women who makes Kueh Tart or Pineapple Tart at home. It requires dedication, perseverance and sincerity without which I would have headed for the stores and just buy myself a bottle of the cookie, ready-made.

Making the traditional cakes makes me realize what others before me had gone through. Each piece that you mold is your work of art and you treat it with so much TLC (tender, loving, care) that you are careful and concern over every piece. That’s about 3 bottles of my love, mind you. Or maybe, it’s just me being emo.

Okay, below is the recipe for Kueh Tart or Pineapple Tart. For your information, I used ready-made paste that I can find in the stores since I am short of time. But I have included the recipe for the pineapple paste. Try it if you have the time, it took me more than an hour previously and I ran out of steam to bake the same day so you decide ok.

The ingredients you will need:

For the pineapple paste

  • 4 cups of pineapple, cubed
  • 350 grams of sugar
  • 3-4 pandan (screwpine) leaves
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence

For the dough

Makes about 50 pieces.

  • 200 grams plain or all-purpose flour
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 150 grams butter
  • 20 grams custard powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Method:

Making the dough

Clockwise from top-left: Making the dough.

  1. For the paste, add all the ingredients together in a saucepan and cook over low heat.
  2. Stir constantly so as not to burn the paste.
  3. You will see a lot of steam  indicating the liquid in the pineapple is evaporating and it will form a thick paste. Once cooked, remove from the heat and allow it to cool.
  4. Store it in an airtight container after it is cooled so that you can use later.

Tips: Once it’s cooled, you can shape the paste into small balls so that you can easily insert it into your shaped dough later. Form the ball to your desired size for your pineapple tart. See my pics above.

For making the dough (this is a soft dough kind)

  1. Beat the egg yolk and butter until smooth then add in the vanilla essence and mix well.
  2. Add the flour in a little at a time and fold the mixture using a spatula.
  3. You will reach a point where it is difficult to fold using the spatula, then knead it with your hands.
  4. Once the dough is firm, not crumbling and can be molded, the dough is ready.

Tips: Take the amount to make one tart of your desired size. Once you have the approximate amount. Form the dough balls for each tart so that you can get a uniform size for all the pineapple tarts. See my pic above.

Once the pineapple paste and the dough is ready you can shape the dough and fill it with the pineapple paste (or ball of pineapple paste).

Pineapple Tart mold

Pineapple Tart mold

Because this recipe is for a soft dough and almost melt in the mouth kind, I did not use the pineapple tart mold (below). Instead I used my hands to mold and a pair of pincers to create the pattern. See the pic.

Place your ready tarts onto a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper. Bake the tarts for 30 minutes at 160 degrees Celsius. The base should be slightly brown.

Let the tarts cool before transferring to a container for storage. Hope you try it someday ya 🙂

Shaping the dough

Clockwise from top-left: Shaping the dough.

6 thoughts on “Kueh Tart (Pineapple Tarts)

    • Hey there, thanks. I do hope you can give it a try. Thanks for dropping by. I have posted another Malay cookie recipe. Do take a look. I hope you can give it a try someday. Have a nice day 🙂

  1. Thank you for the detailed receipe.. and how I miss kuih tat and can’t buy here, so was hoping to bake some. My question is could I replace the egg ingredient? (kids are egg-allergic, and do not want them to miss out of these awesome kuihs). And if so, please advise.

    • Hi Lakhvir, what a coincidence, my daughter is allergic to eggs as well. So I have substituted eggs with many other ingredients depending on the role of the egg in the recipe. It could be grounded flaxseed, applesauce, yogurt, tofu etc. However I have not tried it with pineapple tarts, I will sure give it a try. Will keep you posted.

  2. Hi, your pineapple tarts look amazing!
    I want to try your recipe for this Hari Raya. 🙂
    Just wanna ask, how many pineapple do you need to have 4 cups of pineapple cubes?
    Can the pineapple be grated? Thanks a lot.

    • Hi, sorry for my very late response. Just to answer your question, it depends on how big is the pineapple. I guessed from experience, about one medium to large pineapple can yield about 4 or more cups of pineapple cubes. For smaller pineapples, you may need about one and half to two pineapples. Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

